KS5 Health and Social Care

Curriculum Information Note:

All curriculum information is currently under review. We will update our website shortly with changes.

Vocational BTEC National Extended Certificate in Health & Social Care (Edexcel)

What entry requirements do I need to study the course?

Preferred to have taken at GCSE but not essential.

What does the course involve?

A BTEC National Extended Certificate is equivalent to 1 A Level. It is aimed at teaching you skills that are valuable in the work place. When you pass the course, you will be able to add your BTEC achievements to your overall GCE results. A BTEC National is a practical, work related course. You learn by completing projects, exams and assignments that are based on realistic workplace situations, activities and demands. You will also be given the chance to undertake visits and have visitors come in where you can experience a ‘real’ health and social care setting. This course is excellent preparation for working with people in any workplace situation.

How is it assessed?

Each unit has an independent assignment that you will be set by your teacher. You will be given a deadline to hand in your work and then be given it back to make alterations and improve your grade. You will firstly be taught the information about the topic. This is called “classwork”, and your teacher will ask you to title work “classwork” so that you don’t get this information confused with coursework. You have to complete all class work to be able to write up your coursework.

You will be awarded a PASS, MERIT, or DISTINCTION/* for your portfolio and as an overall grade at end of the course. In A Level terms, a Pass is a E, a Merit is a C and a Distinction is an A/A*. For each Unit you complete you will be awarded points. The more points you get, the better your final grade, as outlined below.

Year 12

The units that you will study are;

  • Unit 1: Human Lifespan Development
  • Unit 2: Working in Health and Social Care

In Year 12 you will study the examination units that include two external exams. Unit 1‐ Human Lifespan Development looks at how you develop and progress throughout life. You will also gain an understanding of them physical and psychological changes of ageing and be able to apply theories of ageing to health and social care provision. Unit 2‐ Working in Health and Social Care looks into how to effectively treat and care services users across a wide range of health and social care services. You will also learn the different types of regulatory bodies to inspect services to ensure that are up to care standards set by the Government. The exams will be sat in the January and May of Year 12. As part of the BTEC Assessment Guidelines you are entitled to one resit that can be taken at the end of year 12 and Year 13.

Year 13

  • Unit 5: Meeting individual care and support needs (coursework)
  • Unit 14: Physiological Health (coursework)

In Year 12 you will take part in a Health Promotion Day that is planned in the summer term. You will plan an event and take over the whole school for the day to promote health and raise money for a chosen charity and current health issue. The skills learnt during the planning stage will benefit your UCAS and or employment applications.

Links & Resources

There are no further resources for this subject.

Links & Resources

Links & Resources

Links & Resources

Links & Resources

Lightcliffe Academy

Stoney Lane
Halifax, HX3 8TL

Tel: 01422 201 028
Fax: 01422 204 615

Registered Office:

Abbey Multi Academy Trust
c/o Chapter House
Abbey Grange Church of England Academy
Butcher Hill
LS16 5EA
Registered Company Number: 07705552